Mancini thinks away goals count

Here is the place to talk about all things city and football!

Mancini thinks away goals count

Postby Michigan Blue » Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:32 am

Not sure if this has been posted yet, but watch his presser on mcfc.co.uk and he keeps going on about 0-0 at home and 1-1 at the Swamp being enough to go through.

I remember Burnley hearts being broken in extra time last year, and in less the rules have changed, we have to beat the Filth by one clear goal over 180 minutes to go through.

I suspect Mancini will try to win both legs but this seems like an important thing to know.
"Certainly our programme is a full one, but as a player and as a manager I've always felt that there is only one way to go into a season...and that's to try to win every game.... While we are in four major competitions we shall try to win four major competitions." - Joe Mercer
Michigan Blue
Balotelli's Fireworks Party

Supporter of: Manchester City

Re: Mancini thinks away goals count

Postby Kladze » Tue Jan 19, 2010 3:49 am

Away goals count double at the end of extra time in the second leg if the tie is drawn at that point :-)
[center]Image[/center]
Kladze
Donated to the site
Donated to the site
Rosler's Grandad Bombed The Swamp

Supporter of: City
My favourite player is: NdJ

Postby Abu Dhabi » Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:10 am

Kladze wrote:Away goals count double at the end of extra time in the second leg if the tie is drawn at that point :-)

This is ridiculous tbh. Either count away goals at FT or head for penalties after extra time.

So if we drew 1-1 at the swamp, after 0-0 at home, we go to extra time, but go through if we kept it like that?
Viva El City
Abu Dhabi
Donated to the site
Donated to the site
De Jong's Tackle

Supporter of: The Citizens

Postby JonnyAsh » Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:40 am