Manchester City Women FC

Here is the place to talk about all things city and football!

Manchester City Women FC

Postby Sister of fu » Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:08 am

Just to update on Man City Ladies and our forth coming adventure into the WSL. For those of you that are not aware I made the squad after putting my self through 6 months of hard work including me completing the Insanity programme on top of training with the club.

It’s probably my proudest achievement to date making this squad given the fact that I had retired from the game 18 months ago and was completely out of shape and touch with football. At the end of last season I made a promise to myself to give it one last go. I probably have never been so fit as I am now.

On top of all my training and been put through extensive testing with the club who are putting everything into making this work. I have been playing for over 25 years and can safely say that I am of the old school variety, turn up play and go home. Times have moved on though and I have in the last few months been introduced to the science side of football. I have done all form’s of testing for speed and agility and which we repeat every few weeks to see how we improve. Was really proud when I was told that I had made the 2nd best improvements out of the squad.

I have been given a programme that I have to work on three times a week which co insides with cardio training and yoga. This is all done on your own which takes a lot of motivation. At the present we have had about 4 weeks off over Christmas and it can be hard at times to go and work out while friends and family are enjoying all the trappings of Christmas. I am relived to be back in on Tuesday for some training with the girls.