london blue 2 wrote:Imo even if he touches the ball, he had to come through the back of the player (illegal challenge) to do so - therefore a foul!
Was outside the box though...
Slim wrote:london blue 2 wrote:Imo even if he touches the ball, he had to come through the back of the player (illegal challenge) to do so - therefore a foul!
Was outside the box though...
That's the way I saw it, cept it was a penalty....cause we are due.
london blue 2 wrote:Slim wrote:london blue 2 wrote:Imo even if he touches the ball, he had to come through the back of the player (illegal challenge) to do so - therefore a foul!
Was outside the box though...
That's the way I saw it, cept it was a penalty....cause we are due.
Amazes me that these so called experts dont know the fucking rules. A tackle from behind is a tackle from behind whether its in the box or in the centre circle. If it's an illegal challenge then it's a foul.
Beefymcfc wrote:The truth is that if this was any other club it would be classed as a clear penalty. Tevez was in control of the ball with a clear goal scoring opportunity when even if Williamson got the ball, he took out the player who would've been able to run onto the ball and carry on with that goal scoring opportunity; the fact that it started outside the box makes no consequence as the challenge actually brought Tevez down in the box so therefore a penalty.
BlueinBosnia wrote:So if a defender pulls a player's shirt outside the box, and the attacker goes down after the contact (ie foul) began inside the box, a penalty should be awarded?
If a foul is commited, it's where the first touch, which initiated the foul, occured.
GavinSE1 wrote:BlueinBosnia wrote:So if a defender pulls a player's shirt outside the box, and the attacker goes down after the contact (ie foul) began inside the box, a penalty should be awarded?
If a foul is commited, it's where the first touch, which initiated the foul, occured.
From FIFA's Laws of the Game Q&A 2006:
Q: A defender starts holding an attacker outside the penalty area but finishes inside the penalty area. What action should the referee take?
A: He would award a penalty kick.
I am assuming that this is still the rule today.
BlueinBosnia wrote:GavinSE1 wrote:BlueinBosnia wrote:So if a defender pulls a player's shirt outside the box, and the attacker goes down after the contact (ie foul) began inside the box, a penalty should be awarded?
If a foul is commited, it's where the first touch, which initiated the foul, occured.
From FIFA's Laws of the Game Q&A 2006:
Q: A defender starts holding an attacker outside the penalty area but finishes inside the penalty area. What action should the referee take?
A: He would award a penalty kick.
I am assuming that this is still the rule today.
I stand corrected.
I am honestly amazed. I never thought that was the way the rule worked, and have never seen it interpreted that way, either by a referee (with the exception of what I thought were 'dodgy decisions'), or by a commentator.
BlueinBosnia wrote:or by a commentator.
Return to The Maine Football forum
Users browsing this forum: Dubciteh, Indianablue, Majestic-12 [Bot] and 210 guests